How I End Up Diving into Biotechnology

This blog post was meant to be posted on 2018, but writing was hard during or after working hour, it needs a lot of concentration and reflection. I found it hard to write (or type you might say) when I am tired, burnt out, or simply not in the mood. In the other hand, I enjoyed pouring whatever in my mind here, so it would be (a little) incoherent between posts. Some will wonder, why do I start writing again? Hmm, as business is currently slowing down due to the breakout of COVID-19, I had a lot of times to discover lots of gems on the internet and also I got times to think and reflect on what’s going on in my life after being graduated in 2018. So, here it goes…

In almost 2 years ago, I went to attend my graduation to officially graduated as a Bachelor of Science. It will surely be a happy moment to me, to my parents, and to my family in general; but would you take a look at your back and remembering how hard it was to be enable to work and reach your dream?

I used to be the student who never knew who I’m going to be in the future. Like any other child, I just said,  “I wanna be a doctor”, but that was never the right answer. I liked to read a lot, especially those books with outer space pictures or animals body parts, etc. In my mind back in the elementary school, there must be a job which is more exciting than being a doctor. I knew that I could be the one who was not going to answer “Doctor”.

Then it came the time to enter the High School era. Those 6 or I might say 7 years in High School, I only enjoyed my time when I was in France as an Exchange Student. I discovered something new and exciting, as I never saw anything like that before. Well, those 6 years of hardships were fulfilled with bullies, back-stabbing moments, or anything you can mention, but here comes my turning point when I know I want to work in Science.

I was lucky enough to find my “click” moment before I reached university. You know, since I was just entering the Senior High School (SHS), both my parents were always asking me or simply telling me to start about what I should be doing in the future or what kind of major should I take in University. That was annoying to be sure, I hate it I might say. Fast-forward to 2 years after I entered SHS, I went to France as an exchange student. There, I was told to take the Biotechnology classes. LUCKILY, that was the best thing and the best turning point in my life.

Starting from that moment, I am sure enough to know that I am meant to be working in science field, especially in Biotechnology. It wasn’t easy either to be studying Biotechnology, but what I know is I enjoyed my time in university a lot more than any other time during my study. I could show the true nature of myself and I can surely find a lot of people who’s also connected to me.

Right now, after 2 years being graduated as Bachelor of Science, my desire to learn is still raging. Well, I don’t work in the field of Science or maybe something related to it. I work as a full -time florist, helping my mom grow the flower shop and yeah, I applied for Master Degree Scholarship in France and already admitted to one University there. This week should be the announcement week for the scholarship, praying and hoping for the best (so anxious yet so nervous).

Leave a comment